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NOTICE TO READERS
This report provides highlights of new laws (public acts) that affect the ability of

many different kinds of businesses to expand and create jobs. It does not
summarize acts that affect only specific types of businesses. In each summary, we
indicate the public act (PA) humber.

The report summarizes only the acts’ major provisions. Complete summaries of
2015 public acts are available on OLR’s webpage:
http://cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp.

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full texts of the acts that interest them
from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the General
Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov.
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ARMED FORCES MEMBERS AND
VETERANS

Subsidizing Transportation
Expenses with Veteran’s
Subsidized Training and
Employment Program (STEP)
Funds

Under a new law, the Department of
Labor (DOL) can cover the
transportation expenses of veterans
hired by businesses participating in the
Unemployed Armed Forces Member
STEP program by using some of the
funds set aside for the program’s
administrative costs.

(PA 15-127, effective October 1,
2015)

Veterans To Agriculture Program

A new law makes it easier for certain
veterans to start a farming business by
relaxing the conditions they must meet
to qualify for the sales and use tax
exemption for personal property used
exclusively in commercial agricultural
production. Under the act, a veteran
qualifies for the exemption if he or she
never owned or leased property for
commercial agricultural production or
did so for less than two years.

The act also allows the Department
of Agriculture (DoAg) to collaborate with
the Labor and Veterans' Affairs
departments and UConn Cooperative
Extension Service to (1) encourage and
help veterans start or expand an
agricultural business and (2) provide
education and training opportunities to

veterans in farming and agricultural
operations.

(PA 15-117, effective upon
passage)

BUSINESS LAW AND PRACTICE

Booting Vehicles on Commercial
Property

A new law regulates the use of wheel
locking devices used to immobilize
unauthorized vehicles on private
commercial property (i.e., “booting”).
Among other things, the act: (1)
establishes signage and notification
requirements, (2) limits boot removal
fees to $50 or less, and (3) imposes
penalties on those who violate the law’s
provisions.

(PA_15-42, effective October 1,
2015)

Business Corporation Law
Changes

The legislature made several
changes to business corporation laws,
including:

1. removing time limits on the
validity of voting trusts and
shareholder agreements and
allowing the agreements creating
them to set their term,

2. requiring qualifications for
corporate directors or director
nominees to be reasonable and
adds specific provisions about
qualifications, and
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3. limiting when business
corporations may indemnify and
advance expenses to officers.

(PA_15-48, effective October 1,
2015)

Connecticut-Grown Farm
Products

A new law sets rules for selling a
claimed Connecticut-grown farm
product at a farmers' market. It
requires people selling such products to
do so in the immediate proximity of a
sign that (1) identifies it as Connecticut
grown and (2) discloses the name and
address of the person or business that
grew or produced it. Violators receive a
warning for a first violation and a $100
fine for each subsequent violation.

The act also increases, from $25 to
$100, the fine for violating the
Connecticut-Grown law. Under the law,
only products grown or produced in
Connecticut may be advertised or sold
as Connecticut-grown. By law, products
grown or produced in Connecticut or
within a 10-mile radius of the point of
sale may be labeled as native, native
grown, local, or locally grown.

(PA 15-245, effective October 1,
2015)

E-Cigarettes

A new law imposes restrictions on
the use of e-cigarettes in certain
establishments and public areas that
are similar to existing restrictions on
smoking in these areas. For example, it

bans the use of e-cigarettes in state
buildings, restaurants, places serving
alcohol, schools, and child and health
care facilities, among others. It makes
exceptions for e-cigarette use in certain
areas and facilities, including designated
smoking areas, tobacco bars, and
outdoor areas in establishments that
serve alcohol.

(PA 15-206, effective October 1,
2015)

Industrial Hemp

A new law eliminates industrial
hemp’s status as a controlled substance
and allows it to be grown, used, and
sold under state law.

(PA 15-202, effective July 1, 2015)

Liquor Law Changes

The legislature made numerous
changes to the Liquor Control Act,
including:

1. banning powdered alcohol;

2. generally allowing businesses
that hold liquor permits to
employ anyone age 16 or older,
rather than 18 or older; and

3. allows certain manufacturers to
sell liquor at retail.

(PA_15-24, effective upon passage,
except certain provisions are effective
July 1, 2015 or October 1, 2015)

September 1, 2015
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Signs Required to Tow or Boot
Vehicles

New legislation requires that owners
or lessees of private commercial
property, in order to tow or boot
vehicles, post conspicuous signs on the
property stating that unauthorized
vehicles may be booted or towed along
with information on (1) where towed or
booted vehicles may be stored, (2) how
vehicles can be redeemed, and (3) fees
that may be charged.

The implementer act creates several
exceptions to this rule, such as allowing
private commercial property owners or
lessees to tow vehicles parked in an
area reserved for emergency vehicles
without posting signs.

(PA 15-42 and PA 15-5, June
Special Session, § 233, both effective
October 1, 2015)

CONSUMER PROTECTION
Cottage Food Production

A new law allows the preparation of
food in private residences for sale if it is
done according to regulations that the
act requires the Department of
Consumer Protection (DCP)
commissioner to adopt. The act also
exempts home bakeries from the law's
bakery licensing requirement.

(PA 15-76, as amended by PA 15-
242, § 57, effective October 1, 2015)

Express Warranties

A new law prohibits manufacturers,
distributors, or retailers from
conditioning the initial term of an
express warranty for consumer goods
on the consumer registering the goods.

(PA_15-136, effective July 1, 2015)

Restitution for Unfair Trade
Practices

A new law increases, from $5,000 to
$10,000, the maximum restitution
amount the DCP commissioner may
order a respondent (the subject of a
hearing) to pay a consumer under the
Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act.

(PA 15-60, effective October 1,
2015)

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Airport Development Zone (ADZ)
Administration

A new law transfers the Connecticut
Airport Authority's (CAA) ADZ
administrative functions to the
Department of Economic and
Community Development (DECD),
including the responsibility for issuing
certificates to businesses it determines
to be eligible for ADZ benefits.

(PA_15-192, §§ 3-6, effective upon
passage)

Bioscience Innovation Fund
Eligibility Changes

A new law (1) expands eligibility for
financial assistance from the Bioscience

September 1, 2015
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Innovation Fund to include businesses
in operation between three and seven
years and (2) limits Bioscience
Innovation Fund eligibility to businesses
in certain clinical trial phases.

(PA 15-222, § 5, effective upon
passage)

Bonds for Economic
Development

The legislature authorized up to:

1. $20 million in bonds in each of
FYs 16 and 17 for the Connecticut
Manufacturing Innovation Fund;

2. $50 million bonds in each of FYs
16 and 17 for the Small Business
Express (SBE) program,

3. $20 million in bonds in each of
FYs 16 and 17 for brownfield
remediation,

4. $2 million in bonds in FY 16 for
implementing a program to assist
minority business enterprises
(MBEs) in obtaining surety bonds
to bid for capital construction
projects, and

5. $100 million in bonds in each of
FYs 16 and 17 for purposes
authorized under the
Manufacturing Assistance Act.

(PA 15-1, June Special Session,
§§ 13(e), 32(f), & 66, effective July 1,

2015 for FY 16 bond authorizations and
July 1, 2016 for FY 17 authorizations)

Commission on Economic
Competitiveness

A new 13-member commission must
assess how the state’s tax policies
affect economic growth and recommend
how the state can promote it.
Specifically, among other things, it must
(1) examine how this year’s budget act
tax changes (PA 15-244) affect the
state’s businesses and industries and
(2) assess the needs of large and small
businesses and industries that affect
their ability to compete.

The commission consists of
legislative appointees (which may
include legislators), the DRS and DECD
commissioners, and a Connecticut
Business and Industry Association
representative appointed by its
president. The commission must
annually report to the Finance, Revenue
and Bonding committee; its first report
is due January 1, 2016.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
498, effective July 1, 2015)

Connecticut Competitiveness
Council

A new law establishes a 10-member
council within the legislative branch to
advise the executive and legislative
branches and businesses about
Connecticut's economic performance,
including how it compares with that of
other jurisdictions. Legislative leaders
and the governor must appoint the
members by October 1, 2015. Starting
January 31, 2017, the council must

September 1, 2015
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submit an annual report to the
governor, DECD commissioner, and
several legislative committees on
Connecticut's current economic
competitiveness and ways to make the
state more competitive.

(PA_ 15-212, effective July 1, 2015)

Cybersecurity Sector Study

A new law requires DOL, in
consultation with DECD, to study
Connecticut’s cybersecurity sector and
issue a final report, with
recommendations, by February 1, 2016.
DOL's analysis must, among other
things, identify (1) cybersecurity sector
stake holders and (2) barriers to the
industry’s growth.

(SA 15-21, effective upon passage)

First Five Plus Extension

The legislature extended the sunset
date for the First Five Plus economic
development program by one year,
from June 30, 2015 to June 30, 2016.
Under the program, the DECD
commissioner can provide loans, tax
incentives, and other forms of economic
development assistance to businesses
committing to create jobs and invest
capital within the law's timeframes.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
42, effective July 1, 2015)

Regenerative Medicine Research
Fund Changes

A new law (1) allows Connecticut
Innovations (CI) to award loans, equity,

and other forms of financing, rather
than only grants, from the Regenerative
Medicine Research Fund (RMRF) and (2)
changes the peer review process for
RMRF funding applications.

(PA_15-222, §§ 1-4, effective July
1, 2015)

Regional Economic Development
Districts (REDD)

A new act increases, from eight to
nine, the maximum number of REDDs
that can be established in the state. By
law, regional planning and economic
development organizations may
establish REDDs to coordinate economic
development projects and prepare
comprehensive economic development
strategies, which are required for
certain types of federal funding.

(PA_15-155, effective October 1,
2015)

Transit Oriented Development
Grants

The act allows the Office of Policy
and Management (OPM) secretary, in
consultation with the transportation
commissioner, to use available funds,
including urban action bond funds, to
make grants or loans to (1) support and
encourage development projects within
walking distance of public transit
facilities (“transit-oriented
development”) and (2) encourage the
development and use of port and rail
freight facilities and services.

September 1, 2015
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(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
410, effective July 1, 2015)

FINANCE, INSURANCE, AND
REAL ESTATE

Bank Acquisition Approval

By law, the banking commissioner
may not approve the acquisition of a
bank or holding company if the
acquiring person (1) has inadequate
anti-money laundering policies or (2)
does not have a record of compliance
with anti-money laundering laws. Under
a new act, this applies only to the
extent that the acquiring person is
subject to anti-money laundering laws
and regulations.

(PA 15-235, § 28, effective upon
passage)

Unauthorized Insurers And
Surplus Lines Insurance

A new law specifies that
nonadmitted or unauthorized insurers
may open an office in Connecticut to
transact surplus lines insurance. By law,
these insurers are those that have not
been granted an Insurance Department
certificate of authority to transact
insurance business in Connecticut.
Surplus lines insurance is property and
casualty insurance coverage that is
unavailable from Connecticut-licensed
insurers (i.e., admitted insurers) and
must therefore be purchased from a
nonadmitted insurer.

(PA_15-166, effective October 1,
2015)

GOVERNMENT CONTRACTING
Data Sharing and Security

A new law establishes protocols to
protect confidential information that an
entity obtains from a state contracting
agency under a written agreement to
perform services for the state. It also
requires the OPM secretary to develop a
program to access, link, analyze, and
share data maintained by executive
agencies and respond to queries from
state agencies and private requestors.

Under the act, if an agreement
requires a state contracting agency to
share confidential information with a
contractor, the contractor must, at its
own expense, take certain steps to
prevent data breaches. Among other
things, contractors must, at a minimum,
(1) implement and maintain a
comprehensive data security program to
protect the confidential information and
(2) report actual or suspected data
breaches to the attorney general within
24 hours of the discovery.

(PA 15-142, effective July 1, 2015)

Small Business Express (SBE)
and Minority Business
Enterprises (MBEs)

A new law increases, from 4% to
5%, the percentage of SBE program
funds that DECD may use to cover the
program’s administrative costs, but
requires DECD to dedicate the
additional 1% to develop capacity for
capital construction projects for MBEs.

September 1, 2015
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(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
407, effective July 1, 2015)

State Subject to Statutes of
Limitations for Construction-
Related Actions and Claims

A new law subjects the state and its
political subdivisions to the statute of
limitations for bringing certain actions
and claims arising out of construction-
related work involving the improvement
of real property. Under the act, the
period of time for bringing such actions
and claims depends on the date the
work is substantially completed and the
nature of the action or claim.

The act also (1) exempts certain
actions and claims from these time
limitations and (2) prohibits any
additional limitation to actions brought
in the name or for the benefit of the
state and any claim of right based on
the lapse of time against the state.

(PA_15-28, effective October 1,
2017)

Set-Aside Contracts

The legislature subjected certain
municipal public works contracts to
state set-aside requirements for small
and minority contractors. It similarly
applies these requirements to projects
administered by certain entities
receiving state assistance from quasi-
public agencies. The act subjects
contractors awarded such contracts to,
among other things, (1) existing law's
nondiscrimination and affirmative action
requirements and (2) the Commission

on Human Rights and Opportunities’
(CHRO) enforcement authority.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session,
§§ 58-71 & 88, effective October 1,
2015, except the provision applying the
act's requirements to CI and CRDA,
which is effective January 1, 2016.)

LABOR

Civil Actions To Collect Past Due
Payments To Employee Welfare
Funds

A new law allows an employee to
sue for unpaid wages over an
employer's past due payments to an
employee welfare fund (i.e., a fund that
provides healthcare, disability, or
retirement benefits for the employee).
The payment must be past due under a
written contract's terms or the rules and
regulations adopted by the fund's
trustees. In such actions, the law allows
an employee to be awarded up to twice
the amount owed, plus costs and
attorney's fees.

The act also allows such an
aggrieved employee to bring a civil
action against (1) a sole proprietor or
general partner, or officer, director, or
member of a corporation or LLC who
failed to make the required payment or
(2) any employee of a corporation or
LLC, who was designated to make the
payment but failed. Under the act,
these people can be found personally
liable for the amount due, plus costs
and attorney's fees.
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It appears that the federal Employee
Retirement Income Security Act
(ERISA) may preempt some of the act’s
provisions from applying to private
sector employers and employees.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session §
112, effective October 1, 2015)

Domestic Worker Protections

Domestic workers who work for
employers with at least three
employees are now covered by the
employment-related anti-discrimination
laws administered by CHRO. Among
other things, this protects them against
employment-related discrimination
based on race, color, age, sex, gender
identity, and mental or physical
disability.

(PA_15-249, effective January 1,
2016)

Failure to Pay Wages

With one exception, a new law
requires, rather than allows, a court to
award double damages plus court costs
and attorney's fees if it finds that an
employer failed to (1) pay an
employee's wages, accrued fringe
benefits, or arbitration award or (2)
meet the law's requirements for an
employee's minimum wage or overtime
rates. The double-damage requirement
does not apply to employers who show
they had a good-faith belief that their
underpayments were legal. Such
employers must, however, pay the full
amount of the wages (less any amount
they already paid) plus court costs and

attorney's fees. By law, the labor
commissioner can collect unpaid wages
and payments or bring a civil suit on the
employee's behalf.

(PA 15-86, effective October 1,
2015)

Online Privacy

A new act prohibits employers from
requesting or requiring an employee or
job applicant to provide the employer
with a user name, password, or other
way to access the employee's or
applicant's personal online account
(e.g., personal email or social media).

The act also prohibits employers
from requiring that employees or job
applicants (1) authenticate or access
such an account in front of the
employer or (2) invite, or accept an
invitation from, the employer to join a
group affiliated with such an account.
The act allows employees and
applicants to file complaints with the
labor commissioner and allows her to
impose certain penalties for violations.

(PA 15-6, effective October 1,
2015)

Sexual Harassment Protection
for Interns

A new law prohibits an employer
from discriminating against or sexually
harassing interns, thus giving interns
protections similar to those of paid
employees. The act makes a violation of
its provisions a “discriminatory practice”
under state human rights law, which
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means a person can file a complaint of
an alleged violation with CHRO and
pursue a civil action in Superior Court.

(PA 15-56, effective October 1,
2015)

Unemployment Taxes

A new law expands the
circumstances in which a private-sector
employer can discharge or suspend an
employee without affecting the
employer's unemployment taxes. It
does so by creating a “non-charge”
against an employer's experience rate
for employees discharged or suspended
because they failed a drug or alcohol
test while off duty and subsequently lost
a driver's license needed to perform the
work for which they were hired. (The
law disqualifies a person from operating
a commercial motor vehicle for one year
if he or she is convicted of driving under
the influence). In effect, this allows the
discharged or suspended employee to
collect unemployment benefits without
increasing the employer's
unemployment taxes.

(PA 15-158, effective October 1,
2015)

Wage Information Sharing

A new act prohibits employers from
taking certain steps to limit their
employees' ability to share information
about their wages. It bans employers
from (1) prohibiting their employees
from such sharing; (2) requiring
employees to sign a waiver or
document that denies their right to such

sharing; and (3) discharging,
disciplining, discriminating or retaliating
against, or otherwise penalizing
employees for such sharing. It specifies
that it does not require an employer or
employee to disclose any employee's
wages.

Employees may bring a lawsuit to
redress a violation of its provisions in
any court of competent jurisdiction, and
employers can be found liable for
compensatory damages, attorney's fees
and costs, and punitive damages,
among other things.

(PA 15-196, effective July 1, 2015)

Workers' Compensation
Approved Provider Lists

By law, an employer may require its
injured employees to receive their
workers' compensation-related medical
treatment from a list of approved
medical care providers. A new act
requires an employer who uses such a
list to provide a copy of it to an injured
employee within two business days
after he or she reports a work-related
injury or condition to the employer.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
52, effective July 1, 2015)

Workers’ Compensation Hospital
Charges

Under a new law, any charges for
workers' compensation-related hospital
services rendered before a new fee
schedule became effective on April 1,
2015 must be the hospital's actual costs
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of treating an injured worker, as
determined by a workers' compensation
commissioner. (In 2012, a
compensation commissioner ruled that
a workers' compensation payor must
pay a hospital's billed charges, rather
than actual costs.) Disputes over a
hospital's workers' compensation-
related charges must be filed within one
year after the initial payment for the
services was remitted.

(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
459, effective upon passage)

LAND USE AND ENVIRONMENT

DECD Brownfields Programs
Changes

The changes a new law makes to
DECD’s brownfield remediation
programs include:

1. adding new components to the
Municipal Brownfield Grant
program,

2. increasing maximum loan
amounts under the Brownfield
Loan Program from $2 million per
year for up to two years to $4
million per year for an unlimited
number of years,

3. making it easier for developers
that acquire brownfields they did
not contaminate to participate in
DECD's program that protects
them from liability to the state
and third parties, and

4. expanding the range of
brownfields DECD can remediate
and market to include those the
state owned and transferred to
other parties.

(PA_15-193, effective July 1, 2015)

Microbeads

Starting December 2017, a new law
phases in a ban on manufacturing,
importing, selling, or offering for sale
personal care products and over-the-
counter drugs with microbeads
(synthetic solid plastic particles of five
millimeters or less).

(PA_15-5, June Special Session, §
50, effective upon passage)

Vapor Recovery

A new law establishes a procedure
for enforcing proper operation of stage I
vapor control recovery systems at
gasoline dispensing facilities. (Stage I
systems prevent the discharge of
gasoline vapors into the air when gas is
transferred from a delivery vehicle to a
facility.) DEEP may place a disabling
device on a facility's dispenser if the
system (1) was not tested within the
past year or (2) is improperly operating.
It also allows DEEP to enforce the law
on sulfur content of home heating oil
and off-road diesel fuel.

(PA 15-160, effective July 1, 2015)
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TAXES AND FEES

Tax Changes

This session, the legislature made
numerous changes to the sales,
property, corporation, and income tax
laws that affect businesses. Among
other things, the budget act:

1. requires members of related
corporate entities to determine
their Connecticut tax liability
based on the group’s income or
capital base (“*combined
reporting”),

2. extends the 20% business
income tax surcharge for two
years,

3. limits the amount of tax liability
businesses can reduce with tax
credits,

4. increases the marginal income
tax rates for filers above certain
incomes,

5. increases the sales tax rate on
luxury items,

6. eliminates several sales tax
exemptions, and

7. caps the motor vehicle tax mill
rate.

(PA_15-244, various effective
dates)

The legislature also made changes to

several economic development related
tax credit programs, including

increasing the overall cap on tax credits
awarded under the Urban and Industrial
Sites Reinvestment program,
Neighborhood Assistance Act, and
Insurance Reinvestment Act.

For more information on these and
other tax changes, see Acts Affecting
Taxes.

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

STEP Changes and Funding

This session’s changes to the STEP
program include: (1) generally
prohibiting businesses and
manufacturers from receiving STEP
grants for new employees hired to
replace workers they currently employ
or terminated, (2) renaming the STEP
“new apprentice” program the
“preapprentice program” and expanding
the eligible employees for which
businesses may receive STEP grants,
and (3) requiring the labor department
to monitor the outside consultants or
Workforce Investment Boards it retains
to run the programs.

The legislature also authorized up to
$5 million in bonds in each of FYs 16
and 17 for STEP.

(PA 15-127, effective October 1,
2015, and PA 15-1, June Special
Session, §§ 13(c) and 32 (c), effective
July 1, 2015 for FY 16 bond
authorizations and July 1, 2016 for FY
17 authorizations)
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Pilot Earn-and-Learn Program
Task Force

A new law creates a task force to
develop, for implementation no later
than July 1, 2016, a pilot earn-and learn
program at a community-technical
college, a state university, and an
independent institution of higher
education. The pilot program must,
among other things, provide
opportunities for students of institutions
of higher education to engage in
applied, work-based learning while
earning money to pay for higher
education. The task force must submit
its report with recommendations to the
Higher Education and Workforce
Advancement Committee by January 1,
2016.

(SA 15-9, effective upon passage)
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